The "Bio-Based Industries" initiative

On 30 May 2014, the GreenWin, in collaboration with Valbiom, became a full member of the BIC Consortium (Bio-based Industries Consortium) uniting members of the European bio-based industry.

A public-private partnership (PPP) with a budget of 3.7 billion Euros, encompassing the BIC network and the European Commission, was then set up. This means that the Bio-Based Industries initiative (BBI) has become one of the 7 "Joint Technology Initiatives" of the European Commission.

The idea behind setting up this PPP was to speed up economic growth and create new jobs, especially in rural areas, by encouraging the development of biorefineries. This initiative is part of the European research and innovation programme, Horizon 2020. The BIC Consortium now boasts 70 full members and 90 associate members.

This funding is aimed at innovative projects that will be selected on the basis of calls for projects and developed around 5 themes: lignocellulosics, forests, agriculture, organic by-products and waste and bioenergy.

In Wallonia, there are a number of organisations who are joining forces as members of the Bio-based Industries Consortium (BIC) and form the BIC-Wallonia working group : the GreenWin cluster representing its 11 SME members, in partnership with ValBiom, the companies De Smet Engineers & Contactors, Solvay, Total, BASF, the Südzucker group and the research centre Certech.

More information about the BBI

Context

This initiative is based on three observations:

  • The European potential in terms of biomass stocks, technology and expertise is impressive
  • The lack of interaction and consistency between different stakeholders and countries is a weakness
  • European funding is still low compared with the USA ($50 billion), China ($300 billion) and Brazil $3 billion), and as well as this, it is rarely ploughed into concrete demonstration projects (6% in Europe compared with 48% in the USA and 58% in China)

Objective

The idea behind setting up this PPP was to speed up economic growth and create new jobs, especially in rural areas, by encouraging the development of biorefineries.

How it works

The BBI was officially launched on 27 June 2014 and was set up to last for 11 years, so until 2025. The BBI has a Board of Directors, with an equal number of BIC members and European Commission members, as well as a Scientific Committee. The themes are defined by the Programming Group, which is made up of manufacturers who are members of the BIC.

Criteria for calls for projects

There will be annual calls for projects for funding in which any company, research centre or university will be able to take part. Three types of project will be eligible: R&D projects, demonstration pilots and innovative industrial projects ("flagships"). These projects must fit in with the themes of 5 value chains.

  • Fuels, materials and products biosourced from lignocellulosic biomass
  • Next generation forest biomass value chains
  • Next generation agricultural biomass value chains
  • Next organic waste value chains
  • Integrated biorefineries

Projects will be evaluated according to excellence criteria by independent experts. Priority will be given to pilot and demonstration projects as well as those able to answer long-term important needs (organic waste valorization, innovative biobased products development…).

The work programme for the 2018 call has been officially published.

This call will be open in April 2018. An Info Day will be organized on the 17th of April 2018 in Brussels. During this day, you will be informed about the call (procedures, rules, proposal advices, insights on the previously funded projects…). Networking sessions are planned and will offer you the opportunity to meet relevant European players and possible future partners.

As a reminder, GreeWin and Valbiom, as BIC (Bio-based industries consortium) members, attend all BBI events in close collaboration with their members and Walloon partners in order to foster their participation in European projects.

Do not hesitate to contact the cluster to help you build a BBI project and identify partnerships.

Informations

Contact : emilie.etoundi@greenwin.be

L’initiative « Bio-Based Industries »

A la date du 30 mai 2014, le pôle GreenWin, en collaboration avec ValBiom, est devenu membre effectif du consortium BIC (Bio-based Industries Consortium) rassemblant l’industrie européenne biosourcée.

Un partenariat public privé (PPP) d’un budget de 3,7 milliards d’euros, rassemblant le réseau BIC et la Commission européenne, a ensuite été mis sur pied. L’initiative Bio-Based Industries (BBI) est ainsi l’un des 7 « Joint Technology Initiatives » de la Commission européenne.

La mise en place de ce PPP vise à accélérer la croissance économique et la création d’emplois, notamment en zone rurale, en favorisant le développement de bioraffineries. Cette initiative fait partie du programme européen de recherche et d’innovation, Horizon 2020. Le consortium BIC comprend aujourd’hui 70 membres effectifs et 90 membres associés.

Ce financement est destiné à des projets d’innovation qui seront sélectionnés sur base d’appels à projets et qui seront développés autour de 5 filières : lignocellulosique, forestière, agricole, déchets et coproduits organiques et bioénergie.

En Wallonie, plusieurs entités se mobilisent en tant que membres du Consortium d’Industriels (BIC) et forment le groupe de travail BIC-Wallonie : le pôle de compétitivité GreenWin représentant ses 11 PME membres en partenariat avec ValBiom, les entreprises De Smet Engineers & Contactors, Solvay, Total, BASF, le groupe Südzucker et le Centre de recherche Certech.

Plus d’infos sur le BBI

Contexte

Cette initiative part de trois constats :

  • Le potentiel européen en termes de stock de biomasse, de technologies et de compétences est solide
  • Le manque d’échanges et de cohérence entre les différents acteurs et pays constitue une faiblesse
  • Les financements européens sont encore faibles comparés aux USA (50 milliards $), à la Chine (300 milliards $) et au Brésil (3 milliards $), et ils sont en outre peu consacrés à des projets concrets de démonstration (6% en Europe contre 48% aux USA et 58% en Chine)

Objectif

La mise en place de ce PPP vise à accélérer la croissance économique et la création d’emplois, notamment en zone rurale, en favorisant le développement de bioraffineries.

Fonctionnement

Le BBI a été lancé officiellement ce 27 juin 2014 pour une durée de 11 ans, soit jusqu’en 2025. Le BBI se compose d’un Conseil d’Administration composé d’une moitié de membres du BIC et d’une autre moitié de membres de la Commission européenne, ainsi que d’un Comité scientifique. Les thématiques sont définies par le Groupe de Programmation composé par des industriels membres du BIC.

Critères des appels à projets

Il y aura des appels annuels pour financer des projets auxquels toute entreprise, centre de recherche ou université pourra participer. Trois types de projets seront éligibles : des projets R&D, des pilotes de démonstration et des pilotes industriels novateurs (« flagship »). Ces projets devront rentrer dans les thématiques de 5 chaînes de valeur :

  • Carburants, matériaux et produits biosourcés à partir de la biomasse lignocellulosique
  • Nouvelle génération de chaînes de valeur de la biomasse forestière
  • Nouvelle génération de chaînes de valeur de la biomasse agricole
  • Nouvelles chaînes de valeur des déchets organiques
  • Bioraffineries intégrées

Les projets seront évalués selon des critères d’excellence par des experts indépendants. La priorité sera donnée aux projets pilotes et de démonstration ainsi qu’à ceux capables de répondre à des thématiques importantes sur le long terme (valorisation des déchets organiques, développement de nouveaux produits biosourcés).

Le programme de travail de l’appel 2018 a été officiellement publié.

Cet appel sera lancé en avril 2018. Dans ce cadre, une séance d’information sera organisée le 17 avril 2018 à Bruxelles. Cette journée sera l’occasion de vous donner un aperçu des informations à retenir concernant cet appel à projets (processus et règles de soumission, conseils pour la rédaction d’un projet, exemples de projets précédemment financés). Des sessions de networking seront également programmées et seront l’occasion de rencontrer des acteurs européens pertinents et éventuellement impliqués dans le montage de projets BBI.

Pour rappel, GreenWin et ValBiom, en tant que membre BIC (Bio-based industries consortium), participent à tous les évènements BBI en collaboration/soutien avec leurs adhérents et partenaires wallons afin d’encourager la participation d’entités wallonnes dans des projets européens.

N’hésitez pas à faire appel au pôle pour vous aider à monter un projet BBI et identifier des partenaires.

Informations

Infos supplémentaires : emilie.etoundi@greenwin.be